Glenn Sutton

Retube Bruce "A" Now!


By Glenn R. Sutton


In 1997, approximately 3 weeks after being elected as the Mayor of the Town of Kincardine, Ontario Hydro announced the closure of Bruce NGS-A & PNGS-A. Our region now had a major economic development issue to resolve.


It all started with a few individuals starting a “Retube Bruce A Now !” campaign This grassroots initiative gained steam very fast and was helped along by the Button Man making buttons with that theme on it. Large signs were also prepared that were posted at the main entrances to Kincardine and smaller signs were also printed and distributed.


Other like minded individuals were consulted as well as the PWU, The Society, Chambers of Commerce local councils etc. Mayor John van Bastelaar of the Town of Port Elgin assisted us in going to different municipalities to obtain motions of support. I also met Mark Kraemer, at the same time, of the Port Elgin Chamber of Commerce who helped as well.


The most successful initiative was the flying of the motto behind a small plane around Ontario Hydro Hear Office in Toronto. A large billboard was also rented for several months opposite Head Office in downtown Toronto.


However; one day before the plane was scheduled to fly, I received a phone call from an Ontario Hydro official at Head Office who wanted to share a message with me, from the  Ontario Hydro Board of Directors. They wanted to let me know that their board room had no windows in it and the plane could not be seen. I stated that the council had already voted unanimously for the flight but I offered to bring this new information to council. The clerk contacted all of council with this new information, but the decision to fly still stood unanimously. The plane flew the next day and the rest is history.


The plane flight was covered in the major Toronto papers and the main TV channels. We had many requests for information & interviews  as a result. All in all, a good expenditure of $500.00.


The sequel to this tale is that later in about 2005, I had the honour of telling this same tale in the Bruce Power Board Room  (Technical Building next to BNGS-A with a full view of BNGS-A) to the Ontario Minister of Energy. All of the mayors from Bruce County were present as well. I emphasized that now the Board of Directors had a full view of BNGS-A. Note that the Bruce Power Board Room was later moved to the top floor of the new B10 Building that still has a good view of the Bruce site.  Units 3 & 4 of BNGS-A have been completely refurbished and the balance of the six units at both BNGS-A and B are undergoing planned refurbishments.


Finally, in 2013, I had one  of the original entrance signs and an original button from the campaign “gifted” to the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre to keep in their archives.


Respectfully Submitted, Glenn R. Sutton. (Retired OPG Nuclear Engineer & Councillor/Mayor of the former Town of Kincardine & Councillor/Mayor of the Municipality of Kincardine)

Explorer's of Bruce

Mir Hassamudddin - Shenstone Motor Inn Elaine Mathewson
henry_paliga Abdon Aguillon
Debbie Giles Ed Giles
Margaret Adams (Copeland) Jennifer-Lea Oaks Jacalene Burrows (Wiggins)
Katie Lutz Asha and Averee Hamann Jim McTeer Katherine Gowing Gerda Roppel Bev Johnston Joyce Johnston Val Kerr Liz Stobo
Ray Pennington Marcus Lorch, Shepard, Lily Louis Schafer Laurel and Dan Silenzi Jan and John Donnelley Larry Catteau Gay Ratcliffe Gretta Fletcher
Wendy Henderson Larry Weber Maureen Daly-Doersam David Myette Rosanne Moore and Tim Amos Dr. John Van Dorp
Ron Logan Bette Cameron Rowena Tindall Elaine Robins Lloyd Ruffett Lois Hutton Steve Gurney Lilian Chatburn Nathan S Landon
Dr. Harold Robinson Watching the 1987 Canada Cup hockey game Samuel Crawford Retube Bruce "A" Now! Robert Sutherland Plaque at Bruce County Courthouse Thomas Scott moving a house Mel Schroeder Karen Ribey
Ron Oswald Alexander McNeill with his dog There is a season for everything and God gave us memories so we could have roses in December. Lucknow Pipe Band Eldon Lowry Bob Kerry Dennis Hunter Sergio Holobrosky
Captain Alfred Hackett Tish Ford Hugh Ferguson family in front of car Pearl McKelvie Paterson Kerr Elsie Dobson William Wilfred Campbel Joan M Borho Jeanette Steeves The Late George Redden, Carrick Township
Donald McLellan, the Old Reeve of Bruce Township Alexander McCarter, Walkerton William Millar Ex-Reeve of Kincardine Township William Millar, JP of Kincardine Township John Little, one of the first settlers of Brant Township William Johnston, or King Johnston first settler in Brant Township Dr. Margaret MacKellar Howard Krug Bruce County Warden Tessie Greig
Sergeant William Victor Tranter in uniform Rachel Hepburn John S. Tolton, Walkerton Thomas Todd, one of the first settlersin Brant Township Edward McDonald, Deputy Reeve of Walkerton Peter Stewart McLaren, Bruce Township William Carnegie, Mildmay James Taylor, MD, Tara James Murphy, MD, Mildmay
Richard Rivers, President of the Northern Exhibition Society, Walkerton Malcolm Campbell, Lucknow Samuel T. Rowe, Paisley Thomas Pickard, Glammis Paul Ross, Ex-Mayor of Walkerton Michael Fischer, many years Reeve of Carrick Township William Collins, Walkerton James Allen, Reeve of Amabel Township George Gould, Arran Township
Andrew Bingham, pioneer of Carrick Township Richard Guinn, deceased, one of the first settlers of Brant Township John Grainger, Brant Township Charles Wickham, Kincardine Township David Gairdner, deceased, Late Clerk of Kincardine Township Yours Truly, Thomas Bearman, Elderslie township James Reekie, deceased, settled in Kincardine Township 1854 Ira Fulford, one of the first settlers of Teeswater John Douglass, Arran Township
Robert Baird, Kincardine, Warden of Bruce County John Gillies, MP for North Bruce Duncan Kerr, Brant Township Peter F. Brown, First Settler in Teeswater John Hunter Luke Gardiner Alexander McNabb, Crown Land Agent, Southampton A.S. Elliot Robert Graham
Ann-Marie John Valentine Alexander Sproat Sir William Hearst Hannah Rusk Kelly Colonel Hugh Clark Francis Paddy Walker John Harnage Scougall in his office